Serena Williams is Fined $17,000
Williams receives 3 Code-Violations
Serena Williams committed three (3) code-violations at the Women’s U.S. Open during her last set against 20-year-old, 20th seed, Naomi Osaka, Japan’s newest super-starlet.
Chair umpire, Carlos Ramos caught Serena Williams’s coach, Patrick Mouratoglou “coaching-from-the-box“. Although Williams claims that either she didn’t see it or that her coach was just giving her a “thumbs-up” sign… or something in that nature — whatever.
Williams snapped at Ramos, shouting that she wasn’t a cheater and that she’d rather lose than cheat. However, Mouratoglou did claim that he was
cheating coaching, but he didn’t admit that until after everything was said and done. He also claims that everybody does it.
It seemed as though Williams was trying to take away the moment from Osaka by claiming that sexism was the reason she lost.